Watch Out for the Facebook Messenger Virus

Watch Out for the Facebook Messenger Virus

Have you gotten this message from random friends on Facebook? I have, and please DON’T CLICK THE LINK!!!

 

There is a virus going around that could destroy your computer and phone.  It starts by sending out personalized links that include the recipient’s name next to the word “video” and a surprised looking emoji. It also includes a realistic picture from the victim’s Facebook page that looks like a playable movie. (WTAE)

 

Bleeping Computer says, Once a user clicks, they will be taken to a malicious site depending on what browser they are using. Google Chrome users are taken to a fake YouTube channel that is ridden with adware, while Firefox users on Windows and Mac are redirected to a fake Flash Player installer that will damage their PC.

Along with filling up your phone and computer with spam advertisements and potentially being able to steal your banking details, the infecting software can also trigger your phone to pass the hoax message and link to your Facebook Messenger contacts without your permission.

 

While it may be intriguing that your friend has some weird video of you, don’t give in.  I’ve literally had about 10 of these messages in my messenger already, and I almost clicked on each one.

FacebookTwitterGoogle+Share

Comments are closed.